• Kaydence Holmes

Best of the Best Moves Online

Updated: May 17

by Kaydence Holmes

With school being cancelled for the remainder of the year, school-wide events now have to move online, including the fifth annual Best of the Best. Best of the Best is one of the largest events at Minarets and recognizes students from all sections of the school.

The process for nominations and voting will remain the same. This week, teachers are nominating students for the forty-three award categories:

  • Senior, Junior, Sophomore and Freshman of the Year(4 Awards)

  • Senior Legacy Experience of the Year

  • Collaborator of the Year

  • Creativity Award

  • Project of the Year

  • The Remi Lee Award for Community

  • New Media Student of the Year

  • Jarred Crossley Award

  • IT Innovator of the Year

  • The Kandinsky

  • Emerging Artist

  • Leonardo Da Vinci Award

  • Best Vocalist

  • Musician of the Year

  • New Musician of the Year

  • Male Athlete of the Year

  • Female Athlete of the Year

  • Male PE Student of the Year

  • Female PE Student of the Year

  • John Green Award(Best Underclass Historian)

  • Jon Corippo Award(Best Underclass Speaker/Presenter)

  • The Denominator(Best Underclass Math Student)

  • The Numerator(Best Advanced Math Student)

  • Best Underclass Language Arts Student

  • Best Advanced Language Arts Student

  • Upton Sinclair Award (Journalist of the Year)

  • Rising Star Award (Best Underclass Drama Student)

  • Best Underclass Science Student

  • Best Advanced Science Student

  • Jane Addams Award(Best Advanced Social Studies Student)

  • The Broadway Bound Award

  • (Best Upper class Drama Student)

  • Mike Niehoff Award(Best Advanced Speaker/Presenter)

  • FFA Exemplar of the Year

  • Nuevo, Pero Bien Bueno (Best Beginning Spanish Student)

  • El Mero Mero (Best Advanced Spanish Student)

  • Líder del Año (Native Speaker Leader of the Year)

  • Journeyman of the Year for Ag Mechanics

  • Apprentice of the Year for Ag Mechanics

  • The Dancing Dreamer

  • Mustang Pride Award

Once the nominations are in, department chairs, CTE leads, grade level teachers and administration will whittle down the nominations to the final three to five students for each category. Teachers and students will receive the official ballots on May 1 and voting will take place from May 4 to May 8.

With the votes are tallied and finalized, the Best of the Best ceremony will be an online event on May 18 at 5:00pm streamed via the Minarets Facebook page. The stream will eventually posted to the Minarets YouTube Channel at later date.

For the nominees and winners, certificates will be mailed home while the winning trophies will be provided in the Fall of 2020 at a special awards luncheon.

Check out our coverage from past events:

Best of the Best 2019

Best of the Best 2018

Past winners and award descriptions


©2020 by Minarets Press. Proudly created with Wix.com

The Chawanakee Unified School District prohibits discrimination, intimidation, harassment (including sexual harassment) or bullying based on a person’s actual or perceived age, ancestry, color, disability, ethnicity, gender, gender expression, gender identity, genetic information, immigration status, marital status, medical information, national origin, parental status, pregnancy status, race, religion, sex, sexual orientation, or association with a person or group with one or more of these actual or perceived characteristics.  

For questions or complaints, contact Daniel Ching, Ph.D, Principal, 45077 Rd 225, O’Neals, CA 93645; 559-868-8689, dching@mychawanakee.org or Equity Officer and Title II, Title V, and Title IX Compliance Officer: Margaret Ameel, Ph.D., Director, Human Resources/Special Projects, 26065 Outback Industrial Way, O’Neals, CA 93645 or P.O. Box 400 North Fork, CA  93643, (559) 877-6209, mameel@mychawanakee.org

This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now