top of page

Learning to Do and Doing to Learn

Updated: May 24, 2020

To practice their skills ,the forestry and citrus teams competed this week. The forestry team left for their competition on January 10, 2019, and came back January 12, 2019. The citrus team left and competed on the January 12, 2019 as well.

These teams have been practicing weekly and applying themselves to their teams. Their hard work and dedication was put to the test in these competitions. Minarets Press interviewed forestry team member senior Sierra Stalter to get more insight on how the competition went. “I felt like it was a great competition and a good start for my senior year forestry season. It helped me realize what I needed to improve on. My favorite part of the trip was hiking around Weaverville the day before the competition and growing closer with my team along the way,” says Sierra.

Minarets Press asked junior Kate Hough some questions about the citrus competition as well. Kate stated, “It was a good contest. It was cold but fun, we got good feedback from the judges and I hope we will just keep improving”. When asked what she wants to improve on she said, “I want improve my reasons scores this year and work on formatting. I’m excited for the contest this weekend and looking forward to State Finals the first weekend in February!” The team competed at Exeter High School this past weekend. The different teams placed second, fourth, and fifth. Senior Michael Rezendes placed second, senior Dilan Basila placed fourth, and freshman Jordan Basila placed ninth.​

Overall, these competitions were successful learning events and both teams are excited to keep learning and keep preparing for state finals. To find out more about how the FFA competitions turn out stay updated by going to the FFA meetings.

23 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page