top of page

Mustang Minute is Back!

Updated: May 20, 2020



With the conclusion of the third quarter, the Mustang Minute team has come a long way; being able to execute and perform professionally. Minarets Press decided to take it into their own hands and uncover how to become a successful new cast by interviewing adviser Mr. Ortiz:


Q: What are your expectations for the team?

A: I expect my students to learn how to work in a fast paced environment and under pressure. Since the shows are live there is little room for error and they must be prepared.​

Q: What have you accomplished so far this semester?

A: Since starting the show again this year, we have been able to put out a live show every week. I try to teach my students that no matter what obstacles we face, the show must go on so we have to air on Fridays, “rain or shine”.

Q: What is your favorite Mustang Minute so far? A: My favorite segment so far has been the teacher tweets. I like that we are able to show some love to the teachers.


Q: What do you hope to accomplish in the future?

A: My goal is to have the students run the entire show and only turn to me for rare cases. I would like to make this a class next year where students who are interested in media but want to try something different can enroll.

Q: What do you think are the most important qualities for someone to excel in this program? A: They have to be well organized. It requires planning to come up with and create a good looking news story.


Q: What are some of the day-to-day responsibilities?

A: Students meet on Mondays to come up with Fridays stories. The field crews will then go out and complete interviews that are relevant to the story as well as some b-roll to illustrate topics covered. By Thursday night they must turn in the final product so we can import it to the broadcast system and get it ready for the show.​

Q: How are you able to stay on top of everything with your busy schedule?

A: Planning and delegating. I have a lot of great students who are experienced and take on leadership roles. I give them the authority to make some decisions so not everything has to go through me. They have all stepped up when needed.

17 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page