top of page

Showcasing Minarets Dance

Updated: Sep 27, 2020


Our Minarets Dance Showcase was spectacular! It was held on May 23, 2019 at Minarets High School from 7pm to 8pm. This event was for the families, teachers, and community members to come out to witness what our Minarets dancer have accomplished in class and to recognize for the wonderful work that they have accomplished. The night featured an array of dance genres off with an array of dance genres with solos ,duets, and group dances. We asked some a few of the dancers questions about their dance life:


Junior Lindsay Martin says that she has a long list of different genres of dance since fifth grade. “It was like I was just born to dance. I never took a dance class but for some reason I wore a little pink tutu and I spun on the floor. I was dancing ever since I could remember.”

When Martin was younger dancing was a way for her to relax. It was calming and it was an extra thing for her to do away from school. Now, she does it for fun. She loves teaching people dance because it is an incredible way to express yourself and to get stress off of yourself.“In five years, I’ll probably still be in college and I am hoping to be getting my degree in liberal arts so that I can become a SPED teacher so that I want to corporate in musical arts into my teaching.” Martin's goals as a dancer is just to keep learning. “You can never know enough when it comes to dance.There is always different techniques, different styles. Dance might not be my main career I always want to keep it in my life and keep learning dance as much as possible.”


Sophomore Shelby Graff explains that she did cheerleading as a kid and hip hop classes throughout her life for about six or seven years.”In five years I would hopefully like to have a college degree, living a happy life, and a good job. My goals as a dancer is to get better, become more flexible, and to be able to do more different types of styles as I grow.” Matt Steffanina is her biggest inspiration.The reasoning for getting into a dance class is because her mom said that it would be fun, that she is really good, and she consider it.


Junior Felicity Johnson has been dancing for four years and she says that her biggest influence on her would have to be her dad.The dance experience that she has had is mostly hip hop. “I get my inspiration from my dad he passed away a couple years ago and it has always pushed me to work harder at dancing. My goals as a dancer is to improve on sharpness and facial features.”



33 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page