top of page

Senior Spotlight: Tessa Cohlan

By Janine Alven and Dannie Howard


The Minarets community is filled with exceptional and talented people, many coming from a variety of backgrounds with a variety of interests. Minarets’ mission has always been to provide opportunities for everyone to express themselves in a way that suits them best and senior Tessa Cohlan expresses herself through art.


Art has impacted my life by just being able to find beauty in everything. I never really meant to be so involved in art. I just did it as an elective and enjoyed it so much I kept doing it,” said Cohlan. Involved with the Minarets art program since eighth grade, Cohlan has shown art at several events, including the Sierra Art Trail.

But with the coronavirus throwing many students for a loop, Cohlan too had to adapt her expectations for the year. “Before COVID, I was probably most excited to see my friends and teachers. I also was excited to do some of the fun senior activities like prom and stuff.”


Nevertheless, Cohlan is grateful for those who’ve made an impact on her the past three years. “I think maybe just my close friends and maybe my art teacher Mrs. Gamble [have impacted me the most]. She definitely has affected me in an innumerable amount of ways, and I'm very lucky to have gotten to have her as a teacher.” As graduation nears, Cohlan reflects, “Some of the things I'm going to miss most about Minarets is the friends I have made and the relationships I’ve established with the teachers.”


Cohlan’s plans after high school are undetermined at the time. “Right now I'm not too sure what the future holds. I would like to delay going to college until it can be in-person learning. So maybe I will try to get a job or something between now and then.” Minarets cannot wait to see what the future holds for Cohlan!

41 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All

Minarets High School Welcomes the Class of 2026

By Janine Alven With the beginning of the 2022-2023 school year beginning on Aug. 11, 2022, not only did the classes of 2023, 2024, and 2025 return to continue their education at Minarets, but the fre

A New Chapter

By Elexander Marberry The end of last school year left everyone in tears as they shared heartfelt goodbyes to numerous teachers and other staff members, even Dr. Ching, now Spring Valley's principal.

bottom of page