top of page

Senior Spotlight: Erica Hafkey

Senior Erica Hafkey has been involved in many things throughout her four years at Minarets High School, such as clubs, sports, and lots of community service. Hafkey has been in Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA), Key Club, Student Allies for Equity (SAFE), Leadership, basketball, National Honors Society (NHS), California Scholarship Federation (CSF), the Drama program, 4-H, and volleyball. Hafkey says “I just love being involved and doing as many things as I can!”

Key Club has been one of Hafkey’s favorite clubs and one that she is the most involved in. She explained, “I love serving my community and bringing people together”


She has done hundreds of hours of community service and is always willing to help anyone and do any community service events or fundraisers, such as a shoe drive she did for kids in need of shoes in Mexico.


“The looks on the kids’ faces when they received shoes was so genuine and you could tell how much they appreciated us and receiving those shoes,” Hafkey said. “It was a very moving experience and it helped me feel closer to my culture and my family in Mexico.”


Volleyball has also played a huge role in her high school career., Hafkey has played all four years and has just loved being on the teams and getting to learn more and more.


She explained, “I just love being able to cheer and be loud with my team and see each other all grow as a team.”


Hafkey has made a lot of improvement in her volleyball career and she says her main motivator is “People believing in me” Hafkey feeds off of other people's energy and when she knows someone believes in her it motivates her and helps her improve.


With being a senior, Hafkey has learned so much from coaches and her team but she says one of the most important things she has learned is, “We win together and we fall together but either way we are still a team and that will never change.”


High school has been full of ups and downs for Hafkey, but she said, “I owe it all to my family and my boyfriend for pushing me to be the best I can be and supporting me through everything.” Her boyfriend has really helped her a lot this past year and she says “He helps me be a better person and he believes in me and when I look at him I know i’m ok.”


Having been involved in many things through her time at Minarets, Hafkey encourages underclassmen, or really anyone, to get involved in a variety of different things so they can learn a lot and have many experiences as she did.




37 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All

Minarets High School Welcomes the Class of 2026

By Janine Alven With the beginning of the 2022-2023 school year beginning on Aug. 11, 2022, not only did the classes of 2023, 2024, and 2025 return to continue their education at Minarets, but the fre

A New Chapter

By Elexander Marberry The end of last school year left everyone in tears as they shared heartfelt goodbyes to numerous teachers and other staff members, even Dr. Ching, now Spring Valley's principal.

bottom of page