top of page

New Teacher Feature: Sydney Keen

Updated: Jun 4, 2021

by Cassidy Gibbs


As Minarets kicks off the 2020-2021 school year, several new additions have been made to the Minarets family, including teacher Sydney Keen who will be taking on Ag Mechanics and science classes as well as serving as a new FFA advisor. Keen started her career off in student teaching positions at both Sanger High and Bakersfield North before she joined Minarets. Already, Keen’s first impressions are that the kids are lovable and that the staff is very supportive and welcoming.


Keen always knew she wanted to be a teacher; it runs in the family. This year, her mom will have been teaching for thirty-one years. Keen stated, “I grew up in a classroom, before school, after school, during summer, and I always knew I wanted to be a teacher. That was kind of a no-brainer.” But it wasn’t until after high school that she figured out what she wanted to teach. It would be her two high school Ag teachers, Mrs. Williams-Hopper and Mr. Koelewyn that truly inspired her to pursue agriculture education. “They showed me to pursue all of the opportunities that were given to me, and they really showed me how important impactful teachers are. And I knew I wanted to be that, but I know I will never be like them... I wanted to try to impact kids in my own way but the only way I could do that was to become a teacher,” said Keen.

Ag Mechanics has a special place in Keen’s heart. When asked about her favorite aspect of the class, Keen explained that she loved the hands-on part and how it gave kids a glimpse of a real-world job that pays well but doesn’t require college. Keen wants kids to know that if they know college isn’t for them, that Ag Mechanics gives them the opportunity to learn a skill in high school that can turn into employment after graduation.


67 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page