top of page

New on the Block

By Morgan Fiala


Life as a new student can seem scary and confusing at first, no matter what grade somebody is joining in. These new students are usually freshmen coming from one of the local elementary/middle schools so help is always available for these students, whether it is to help them get to class or to help them gain a basic understanding of the workings at Minarets. For the sophomores and upperclassmen, the help around campus might seem repetitive and unnecessary, though freshmen aren’t the only students who are new to Minarets at the start of the school year, as many students transfer from other schools in order to go to Minarets.


Luckily for me, this help was not only readily available, but both staff and students were available to help me when needed and were always friendly, and willing to talk and answer any questions I had. My name is Morgan Fiala, I’m a junior who transferred to Minarets after moving over the summer. I used to live in Spokane, WA, but I moved to North Fork, CA, because my Grandpa left my family his property after he passed. The leadership team helped explain where classes were and would even offer to walk me to my class or classes if I still seemed confused. Lewis and Clark High School, my old school back in Spokane, was massive compared to Minarets, with over 2,000 kids across three large multistory buildings, so I appreciated Minarets' smaller and calmer environment. I am ecstatic about the rest of the year, as my classes are interesting and compelling (at LCHS, all of the “fun” classes would get filled up within 10 minutes of enrollment opening), my teachers are welcoming and funny, and my classmates are outgoing and sociable!


Overall, I love the atmosphere here at Minarets! I think the next two years will be the best schooling years of my life, so keep making new kids feel welcome Minarets!



25 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All

Minarets High School Welcomes the Class of 2026

By Janine Alven With the beginning of the 2022-2023 school year beginning on Aug. 11, 2022, not only did the classes of 2023, 2024, and 2025 return to continue their education at Minarets, but the fre

A New Chapter

By Elexander Marberry The end of last school year left everyone in tears as they shared heartfelt goodbyes to numerous teachers and other staff members, even Dr. Ching, now Spring Valley's principal.

bottom of page