top of page

New Counseling Intern: Yalda Kakar

Article by: Cara Coombs and Janine Alven

In addition to new teachers, Minarets added a new member to the counseling team this year. Yalda Kakar, a counseling intern this year, originally hails from Kubal, Afghanistan, and can speak four languages. When discussing her decision to come here, Kakar said, “I decided to intern at Minarets because I had never worked in a charter school before. I've also never worked in a high school before, just middle school and elementary, so I wanted to experience something new and different.”

Before coming to Minarets, Kakar interned at a middle school while studying to be a teacher at the University of Washington. It was then she decided to become a school counselor instead.


When she was deciding to change fields of study, Kakar said, “There was one student I was working with for a few weeks who was new to the country and needed a translator. His counselor asked to meet with me and him together to talk about school and scholarships. After that initial meeting with the counselor and talking more in-depth with the student about their needs and how I can best support them in school, I felt more fulfilled than I ever did during my internship as a teacher. I knew after that meeting, this is what I wanted to do with my life. It was a very scary process making that decision because I was just about to finish college and get my degree, but I knew I wouldn't be satisfied so after some encouragement and support from my family and friends I went for it and applied to graduate schools so I can be a school counselor.”


Though having just arrived at Minarets, Kakar has already settled in well. “My experience so far has been amazing!” she said. “Everyone at Minarets has been so friendly and inclusive to me that I feel as though I've been there for many years.” Although she is only here for the school year, the students and staff are excited to have her as an addition to the team.


70 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page