top of page

Mustang Volleyball vs. YHS

Updated: Sep 27, 2020

by Britteny Robertson and Isabel Cox


Minarets High School has had a long rivalry with Yosemite High School and our volleyball team faced off against them on Thursday, August 22, 2019 at the YHS gym. While each of our three teams fought their hardest, YHS were victorious.


Captain of the Varsity team Synovia Wold explained, "we were not able to overcome the obstacles in front of us, and we mentally plummeted. For me, I wanted the game too much, and I forgot to have fun."


Fellow varsity player and senior Haylee Crowe agreed and elaborated, “As a team we didn't do too well. We definitely did not play Mustang volleyball. The way we played did not reflect how much work we put into practice. However the loss of the game gave all of us the motivation to work harder and persevere through the rest of our season” For her individually, she explained that “I did not play to the best of my ability like I should have. I couldn't read my middles and I didn't get any blocks or many kills. However I tried to remain positive to help keep my team’s spirit up. All in all it was a bad game but what we took from it is what counts.


Sophomore Melia Kamalani said, “ I think we did okay but not to the best of our abilities.We were fighting for the game because everyone wanted the game so bad and the pressure came down on us and we just didn't have fun. “ 


Despite the losses, students, teachers, parents, and community members came out to support our girls at YHS. The student section was highly energetic and cheered on our volleyball teams. For the girls, this support is invaluable as it reenergizes them. One student attendee said that the student section could be improved by “Try[ing] and get more students to go and maybe get a router bus”


Overall, the games did not end the way we hoped, but our players are staying positive and using the lessons learned to improve for upcoming games.


Never miss an update. Subscribe to our newsletter.

27 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page