top of page

Driver's Education in the Pandemic

Updated: Jul 12, 2021

by Cara Coombs


Earning a driver’s license is one of the hallmarks of high school, but now with the COVID-19 pandemic, the process to earn one has changed slightly. Besides the obvious addition of mask requirements, the DMV has shifted its process for teenagers to earn a license, including shortening driving training sessions, three of which are required before taking the actual driver’s test.


Junior Hazel Taintor talks about her experience with driver’s education before and during the pandemic. “Before COVID, I scheduled my appointments and did a two-hour driving lesson with a teacher at the driving school. I was behind the wheel, and the instructor gave me tips and taught me how to do certain things. After COVID, the actual driver’s ed didn't change much for me. What changed was me actually getting my license,” Taintor explained. “I had to get it two months later than I planned because appointments were unavailable. It was definitely a lot different than it had been before COVID. The route was shorter, the tester had to sit on a plastic sheet, and we had to wear masks the whole time.”


Though it’s become slightly more difficult, driver’s education is still in high demand. Senior Jessica McGrail explains, “I got comfortable behind the wheel because of driver’s ed.”


Though the test is administered slightly differently, much remains the same when it comes to driver’s education, though the DMV is continuing to update guidelines as more information develops.


33 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All

Minarets High School Welcomes the Class of 2026

By Janine Alven With the beginning of the 2022-2023 school year beginning on Aug. 11, 2022, not only did the classes of 2023, 2024, and 2025 return to continue their education at Minarets, but the fre

A New Chapter

By Elexander Marberry The end of last school year left everyone in tears as they shared heartfelt goodbyes to numerous teachers and other staff members, even Dr. Ching, now Spring Valley's principal.

bottom of page