top of page

Western Wednesday, A Rootin’ Tootin’ Time

Updated: May 21, 2020


Were those FFA kids? No, it was Western Wednesday! To show our school spirit many students dressed up for Wednesday’s Derby Week theme “Western Wednesday” on October 10, 2018. Students sported flannels, denim, and cowboy boots. To add to the fun our Leadership team set up hula hoop roping and a water gun shoot off as the lunch time activities.

I interviewed a few students to get their opinion on the day and its activities. The tall hog at the trough was, senior, Kaitlynn Linderholm. She told me that “I’ve had my outfit for a real long time. I got my chaps from a good friendly friend and I won my buckle and my spurs ”. When I asked her if she was dressing up for the rest of the days she said, “ I’m planning on dressing for the all of the Derby week days. And on spirit day I will go all out”. She went on to say that her favorite item she was wearing was, “Definitely my buckle! I just won it recently!” When I asked Zackery Rice, sophomore, if he was dressing up for the rest of the Derby week days he said “This was the easiest day to dress up for, so I am just dressing up for this one”. And he went on to say, “My favorite thing I’m wearing are my boots. They're comfy!”

Overall, this was a day full of fun that gave us a chance to show our Mustang Pride! Whenever people say Minarets does not have school pride you can say “that dog won’t hunt!”

Submit your photos of Opposite Day here.

63 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All

Minarets High School Welcomes the Class of 2026

By Janine Alven With the beginning of the 2022-2023 school year beginning on Aug. 11, 2022, not only did the classes of 2023, 2024, and 2025 return to continue their education at Minarets, but the fre

A New Chapter

By Elexander Marberry The end of last school year left everyone in tears as they shared heartfelt goodbyes to numerous teachers and other staff members, even Dr. Ching, now Spring Valley's principal.

bottom of page