top of page

2018 Freshmen Feature

Updated: May 21, 2020



The Minarets Class of 2023, also known as the freshman class, have started the year off strong! Our new Mustangs have high hopes and expectations for the 2019 year, and Minarets Press had the opportunity to interview five students of the class of 2023 to give their first impressions and hopes for their journey at Minarets High School! This year, five students agreed to be interviewed for this year’s freshmen feature. At Minarets Press, we were very excited to conduct these interviews and hear honest feedback from five class of 2023 students.


Interview #1: Zach Roberts

Question: Since you are a freshman and it is your first year in high school, do you have high hopes for this year in particular?

Zach Roberts: I have high hopes to be a good basketball player for the JV team this year.

Q:How have your first two weeks at Minarets been? Is it what you expected?

ZR: Not what I expected and I thought it would be worse but it’s getting better everyday.

Q: What is your favorite aspect of Minarets so far?

ZR: I really like the teachers here, especially Miss Morgan.

Q: Do you have a favorite class yet?

ZR:My favorite class is Athletic PE.

Q: What clubs/sports are you in or hope to join?

ZR: I’m in Basketball and I hope to join both FCA and gaming club.

Q: What do you think about using technology instead of paper and pencil?

ZR: It makes work easier and I understand it better that way.

Q:What is one piece of advice you have for incoming Minarets freshmen?

ZR:Stay positive and get work done.

 

Interview #2 John-Paul Uribe

Q:Since you are a freshman and it is your first year in high school, do you have high hopes for this year in particular?

JPU: I have high hopes for making new friends and making people laugh.

Q: How have your first two weeks at Minarets been? Is it what you expected?

JPU:They’ve been great so far and exactly what I expected when coming here to Minarets.

Q:What is your favorite aspect of Minarets so far?

JPU:I’d say the technology and the teachers.

Q: Do you have a favorite class yet?

JPU:I really like drama class with Mrs. West.

Q:What clubs/sports are you in or hope to join?

JPU:I hope to join Art Club this year.

Q:What do you think about using technology instead of paper and pencil?

JPU:I think it’s cool because kids can get into programming with the frequent use of the computers.

Q: What is one piece of advice you have for incoming Minarets freshmen?

JPU: Be positive, don’t be stupid, and turn your work in on time.

 

Interview #3: Jacob Wheeler

Q: How have your first two weeks at Minarets been? Is it what you expected?

JW: They’ve been pretty fun and easy.

Q:What is your favorite aspect of Minarets so far?

JW: Lunch.

Q: What clubs/sports are you in or hope to join?

JW: I play football.

Q: What do you think about using technology instead of paper and pencil?

JW: Tech is way easier.

Q: What is one piece of advice you have for incoming Minarets freshmen?

JW: Don’t get lunch detention.

 

Interview #4: Madeline Griffin

Q: Since you are a freshman and it is your first year in high school, do you have high hopes for this year in particular?

MG: Yeah, my hopes are to have fun and get good grades and get on track.

Q: How have your first two weeks at Minarets been? Is it what you expected?

MG: Kinda crazy, I was not expecting it to be so tiring.

Q: What is your favorite aspect of Minarets so far?

MG: I love how Minarets teaches you in a unique way where you want to learn.

Q: Do you have a favorite class yet?

MG: I really like English and chorus.

Q: What clubs/sports are you in or hope to join?

MG: I hope to join Key Club and I am in cheer this year.

Q: What do you think about using technology instead of paper and pencil?

MG: I have to get used to it, but it’s easier.

Q: Are you excited for high school and future years to come?

MG: Yes, I’m excited for the experience and to graduate so I can get into a good college.

Q: What is one piece of advice you have for incoming Minarets freshmen?

MG: Be prepared and get lots of sleep.

 

Interview #5 - Taylor Manning

Q: How have your first two weeks at Minarets been? Is it what you expected?

TM: It’s more than I expected and they have been fairly good.

Q: What is your favorite aspect of Minarets so far?

TM: I like how small it is and how you can connect with your teacher.

Q: Do you have a favorite class yet?

TM: Lots of classes are my favorites.

Q: What clubs/sports are you in or hope to join?

TM: I hope to join FCA this year.

Q: What do you think about using technology instead of paper and pencil?

TM: The tech is definitely better.

Q: What is one piece of advice you have for incoming Minarets freshmen?

TM: Get work done and have a positive attitude.

49 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All

Minarets High School Welcomes the Class of 2026

By Janine Alven With the beginning of the 2022-2023 school year beginning on Aug. 11, 2022, not only did the classes of 2023, 2024, and 2025 return to continue their education at Minarets, but the fre

A New Chapter

By Elexander Marberry The end of last school year left everyone in tears as they shared heartfelt goodbyes to numerous teachers and other staff members, even Dr. Ching, now Spring Valley's principal.

bottom of page